A week without Facebook draws to a close.

When I was perusing the class website last Thursday night and read that we were going to have to give up Facebook for a week, I felt strange. I’ve already explained my interesting relationship with social networking in a previous post, and if you read that you know that I spend time on Facebook but I don’t consider my use of the site to be productive in any way.

Not being on Facebook has been liberating, but still annoying at times. Instead of checking Facebook in the morning when I woke up, I read articles or looked at news sites. Instead of constantly opening the Facebook app on my phone to see friends complaining about silly things, I checked my Twitter and saw useful links that I might have missed later in the day (I follow a bunch of writers and writing tip tweeps). I don’t understand how I spent so much time on Facebook, seeing as I was able to stay off of it so easily. I realised I mostly keep an eye on my family and close friends to see what they’re up to. Without using Facebook I have to call/text them, and my school and work schedule lead to me doing so at odd hours. I also realised that I find a lot of things online that I would like to share with my friends, and without being able to post on their wall or tag them I had to find more creative ways to share the information that I found. The most annoying thing was when I was with my tech-savvy friends and they’d start a conversation with, “Hey, did you see so-and-so on Facebook?” and proceed to talk about it. I felt excluded, but got over it quickly.

This experiment allowed me to spend more time with Twitter and get to know the site a little more intimately. I’m shocked at the amount of information I get from my feed every day. I know it depends on who you follow, but it’s still overwhelming. I’ve been trying to use that site strictly as a writing student to build my persona as someone who shares articles that I believe could be helpful to others. I still goof around a bit on there, but that also says something about my personality.

I’ve also been playing around with my own personal WordPress blog, which I hope to launch before November. Stay tuned for more info on that, and I’d truly appreciate feedback when I get it up and running.

As an off-topic side note, is anyone planning on participating in NaNoWriMo this year? I’d like to, and it’s always easier when you know other people who are doing it, too.

Cheers and happy Facebooking!

About hmmallette

I'm a reader, writer, and editor who loves words and other creative media. I have a Bachelor of Writing Arts from Rowan University. Currently working to live, always trying to write more but never quite succeeding. View all posts by hmmallette

Leave a Reply

