(Still) Getting Used to the Evolution of Writing and Tech

Before I was required to create a Twitter account for Intro to Writing Arts, I was required to do so for Internet and Writing Studies (IWS) with Professor Wolff. Now, we are also creating LinkedIn, Flickr, Diigo, and separate WordPress accounts in IWS. All this is for our “Integrated Social Media Presence” project, a project aimed at helping us create one pervasive, yet consistent, professional presence across the web. I’ve never even heard of Diigo, and I’ve never been on LinkedIn’s or Flickr’s websites. I was just starting to catch up in Intro, and now the overwhelming sensation of existing in the wrong century is starting to creep back.

In reality, I know it’s not all that bad. No matter what your desired profession (creative writer and library-science-guru, for me), having a professional online presence is essential. At least, that’s what they keep telling me. I’m still trying to convince myself that it’s true, not because I don’t honestly believe that it’s true, but because attempting to run all these webpages in a professional, coherent, and attention-grabbing manner terrifies me. I’d much rather just sit here writing (with pen and paper), or reading a book (printed and bound.)

So I must say, while I truly am frightened by the upcoming weeks and the new skills I will have to learn, I’m also excited. I want to be able to join this group of elite, tech-savvy geniuses who have their online presence ironed out perfectly and wrapped with a bow. Authors are now required by publishing companies to create and maintain their own websites. Self-publishing, particularly on e-readers, is quickly becoming one of the most popular ways to sell one’s work. I want to know that these are things I am capable of doing myself.

I suppose it’s finally time to just put on the work gloves and get to work with the internet.

One response to “(Still) Getting Used to the Evolution of Writing and Tech

  • carter48

    Oh my goodness! I am feeling overwhelmed with just the things that have been added to my internet life from intro. I couldnt imagine what you must be going through with IWS stuff too. I thought that the additions would be easier because of the fact that I grew up using technology. Yeah, well I still feel like I am behind in all of this stuff! Hopefully we can both get a better handle on it soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

