Social networks! Social networks everywhere!

I had to read a few articles on social networking this week for my special topics class, Professions in Writing Arts (everyone who wants to pursue a career in writing should take this class if you can, it’s incredibly informative). I thought they added nicely to our discussion of social networks. While we’re mostly focusing on Twitter and blogging for this class, there are so many other options out there that you can use to build a bigger, better online persona.

The first article, Social Networking for Writers – How to Network like a Pro, and Why Every Writer Should, is fairly self-explanatory. Robin Parrish discusses using the sites to create your brand and get the notice that you deserve.

The second site isn’t an article, but a list of the Best Social Networking Sites and Message Boards for Writers. This list is extensive and I only knew of two of these sites before reading it. There are many message boards and communities out there where writers can post their work to get feedback and constructive criticism, which can be hard to find outside of a workshop-centered course or a writing club.

I hope this is helpful! I sincerely think everyone who is thinking of a career as a writer or considering going to graduate school for writing should take the Professions class. It’s a special topic 1 credit class that runs for only 5 weeks, and so far I feel like I’ve learned more than I have in some of my full 15 week classes. Our class website is here if you’d like to see what we’ve been covering.

Cheers and happy networking!

About hmmallette

I'm a reader, writer, and editor who loves words and other creative media. I have a Bachelor of Writing Arts from Rowan University. Currently working to live, always trying to write more but never quite succeeding. View all posts by hmmallette

2 responses to “Social networks! Social networks everywhere!

  • bairdj21

    I find your post extremely helpful. I am a Writing Arts major, so I am obviously trying to find a job that has to do with writing when I graduate. These resources are big helps to that cause. This is a great example of blogging done right: using your ability to share to help others. Keep up the great blogging!

  • cmvisceglia

    I had no idea there were so many networking sites aimed specifically towards writers! I mean, I assumed there was an infinite number of websites where amateur/hopeful writers gathered to share and critique each other’s work, but I didn’t realize there was such an extensive list of options geared towards more professional networking. Having a professional online presence as a writer is something I held-out against for the longest time, and now that I am required to create one, I have had a hard time knowing where to go and what to do. Thanks for sharing this information!

Leave a Reply

